New London Architecture

New London Awards 2018

30 projects have been announced as winners of this year’s New London Awards at the Guildhall, attended by the Mayor of London Sadiq Khan, who gave the keynote speech.

London Bridge Station, by Grimshaw for Network Rail, has been named Overall Winner 2018, while also being the winner for the Transport & Infrastructure category and the Sustainability Prize. 

The long-running project – one of the most complex and ambitious rail station redevelopments in the UK – was praised for its impressive scale and complexity and for having sustainability as a key driving factor in both its design and construction.

Overall Winner

London Bridge Station, SE1 by Grimshaw for Network Rail

People's Choice

WINNER Walthamstow Wetlands, N17 by Witherford Watson Mann Architects and Kinnear Landscape Architects for LB Waltham Forest, Thames Water and London Wildlife Trust

Sustainability Prize

Sponsored by Hoare Lea
WINNER London Bridge Station, SE1 by Grimshaw for Network Rail

Belarusian Memorial Chapel, N12 by Spheron Architects for The Holy See of Rome
Dalston Lane, E8 by Waugh Thistleton Architects for Regal Homes

Mayor's Prize

WINNER Kings Crescent Estate, N4 by Karakusevic Carson Architects for LB Hackney

Waterloo Community Farm, SE1 by Feilden Fowles for Jamie's Farm

Conservation & Retrofit

Sponsored by Urban Space Management
UNBUILT WINNER Painted Hall Phase 2, SE10 by Hugh Broughton Architects for Greenwich Foundation for the Old Royal Naval College

BUILT WINNER Hackney Town Hall, E8 by HawkinsBrown for LB Hackney

Garden Museum, SE1 by Dow Jones Architects for The Garden Museum
No1 New Oxford Street, WC1 by Orms for TH Real Estate and BA Pension Fund

Culture & Community

UNBUILT WINNER Sands End Arts and Community Centre, SW6 by Mæ for LB Hammersmith & Fulham

BUILT WINNER Royal Academy of Music Theatre and new Recital Hall, NW1 by Ian Ritchie Architects for Royal Academy of Music

Herne Hill Velodrome, SE24 by Hopkins Architects for Herne Hill Velodrome Trust
Montrose Cafe Hub, NW9 by Tonkin Liu for LB Barnet
Phoenix Garden Community Building, WC2 by Office Sian Architecture + Design for Phoenix Garden Trust


Sponsored by International Fire Consultants (IFC Group)

UNBUILT WINNER The Marshall Building, WC2 by Grafton Architects for London School Of Economics & Political Science

BUILT WINNER LAMDA, W14 by Niall McLaughlin Architects for LAMDA

BUILT WINNER Link Special Needs School, CR0 by DSDHA for Link Day Schools

Streatham and Clapham High School, SW16 by Cottrell and Vermeulen Architecture for The Girls’ Day School Trust
Marlborough Primary School, SW3 by Dixon Jones for RB Kensington & Chelsea
University of Roehampton Library, SW15 by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios for University of Roehampton


Sponsored by designjunction

WINNER Gospell Oak Infill Sites, NW5 by Burd Haward Architects ltd for LB Camden

The Multi Generation House, E20 by PRP for Chobham Manor LLP

Hotels & Hospitality

WINNER Nobu Hotel, EC2 by Ben Adams Architects and Ron Arad Architects for Willow Corp

The Ned, EC2 by EPR Architects for The Ned 


Sponsored by WICONA

UNBUILT WINNER Vaughan Road, HA1 by LB Harrow

BUILT WINNER The Bourne Estate, EC1 by Matthew Lloyd Architects LLP for LB Camden

Moray Mews, N7 by Peter Barber Architects for Roberto Caravona 
West Green Place, N17 by HTA Design LLP and Dyvik Kahlen Architects for Pocket Living 
White Lion House, Centre Point, WC2 by MICA Architects for Almacantar Ltd 

Masterplan & Area Strategies

Sponsored by London Communications Agency

WINNER Andover Estate Phase One, N7 by Studio Partington for LB Islington


WINNER Old Kent Area Action Plan, SE1 by LB Southwark

Barking & Dagenham Character Study, IG11 by Allies and Morrison for LB Barking & Dagenham
Byron Quarter, HA3 by Karakusevic Carson Architects for LB Harrow


WINNER Peckham Levels, SE15 by Carl Turner Architects for Make Shift and LB Southwark

Blue House Yard, N22 by Jan Kattein Architects for LB Haringey

Mixed Use

Sponsored by Savills
UNBUILT WINNER Bernard Works, N15 by Duggan Morris Architects for Empyrean/GCAP Investments

BUILT WINNER Caxton Works, E16 by Studio Egret West for U+I plc

Plot 1, London Square Bermondsey, SE1 by Coffey Architects for London Square


Sponsored by Wicona
UNBUILT WINNER 1 Finsbury Avenue, EC1 by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris for British Land

BUILT WINNER Bloomberg, London, EC4 by Foster + Partners for Bloomberg LP

R7, Kings Cross, N1 by Duggan Morris Architects for King's Cross Central Limited Partnership 

Public Spaces

UNBUILT WINNER Goodluck Hope, E14 by Allies and Morrison and Spacehub for Ballymore

BUILT WINNER Canal Corridor, King's Cross, N1 by Townshend Landscape Architects for Kings Cross Central Limited Partnership

Connecting Colliers Wood, SW19 by Gort Scott and Jonathan Cook (JCLA) for LB Merton
Leake Street Arches, SE1 by Corstorphine + Wright and Nulty for LCR


WINNER Spiritland, N1 by Fraher Architects for Spirtland

Holcombe Market, N17 by Adams & Sutherland for LB Haringey

Transport & Infrastructure

WINNER London Bridge Station, SE1 by Grimshaw for Network Rail

Greenwich Peninsula Low Carbon Energy Centre, SE10 by C.F. Møller Architects for Pinnacle Power and Knight Dragon Developments
Mini Holland, Waltham Forest, E10 & E17 by what if: projects for LB Waltham Forest


Sponsored by Airflow
UNBUILT WINNER Noah’s Ark Children’s Hospice, EN5 by Squire & Partners for Noah’s Ark Children’s Hospice

BUILT WINNER White Collar Factory, EC1 by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris for Derwent London

The London Animal Hospital, SE5 by alma-nac for The London Animal Hospital


UNBUILT WINNER Tileyard Studios, N7 by Pilbrow and Partners for City & Provincial Properties PLC

BUILT WINNER The Department Store, SW9 by Squire & Partners

The Forge, E14 by Emrys Architects for Craft Central 
Here East, E20 by HawkinsBrown for Innovation City (London) Ltd

Supported by



International Fire Consultants

Sponsorship Opportunities

By supporting the New London Awards you will be aligning your organisation with the best new projects in London. For more information on available packages please contact Aurelia Amantis call 0207 636 4044
Email us

Stay in touch

Upgrade your plan

Choose the right membership for your business

Billing type:
All prices exclude VAT
View options for Personal membership