New London Architecture

New London Awards 2019

Sustainable community investment project wins the New London Awards 2019. 

The first phase of a Camden masterplan providing 38 affordable and energy-efficient homes, Agar Grove Phase 1a, NW1 by Hawkins\Brown for LB Camden is the 2019 Overall Winner of the annual New London Awards, organised by New London Architecture and supported by the Mayor of London.   

29 projects have been announced as winners of this year’s New London Awards at the Guildhall. These projects not only reflect the high quality of design coming up in the capital, these projects are also selected because they deliver something positive for their local area or for London. 

New Londoner of the Year

John Burns, Chairman, Derwent London. John’s selection as New Londoner of the Year 2019 marks his retirement from Derwent London as Chief Executive, although he will remain Chairman. We recognise his contribution to the delivery of high-quality design and his commercial brilliance, but most of all his — and Simon’s — dedication to and faith in London, its character, its villages, its emerging businesses —particularly in design and tech — and its people. 

Hidden Hero

Winner of the new Hidden Hero Prize was 85-year old Nano McCaughan, who was involved from the very start in the Community Land Trust project in Lewisham to build 11 affordable homes, each home sold at a price linked to local wages. She visited many local residents and councils and with her strong determination put together a team to deliver the scheme. The Award was created to recognise individuals that make a significant contribution to the creation of great places, whose efforts often go unseen and unrecognised, yet without them we would not have the city we have today.

Overall Winner

Agar Grove Phase 1a, NW1 by Hawkins\Brown for LB Camden


People's Choice

WINNER The Aga Khan Centre, N1 by Allies and Morrison and Maki & Associates for Aga Khan Development Network


Sustainability Prize

Agar Grove Phase 1a, NW1 by Hawkins\Brown for LB Camden

Mayor's Prize

WINNER Chobham Manor, E20 by AHMM, Haworth Tompkins, Karakusevic Carson Architects, Make, muf architecture/art, Nord and PRP for Chobham Manor LLP (Taylor Wimpey & L&Q) and LLDC 

Community Prize

WINNER The Granville, NW6 by RCKa for LB Brent 

Wellbeing Prize

WINNER Aldgate Highway Changes and Public Realm Improvements Project, EC3 by City of London

Conservation & Retrofit

Sponsored by Urban Space Management

WINNER Pitzhanger Manor and Gallery, W5 by Jestico + Whiles and Julian Harrap Architects for LB Ealing and Pitzhanger Manor and Gallery Trust

WINNER Great Arthur House, EC1 by John Robertson Architects for City of London Corporation


Alexandra Palace East Wing Restoration Project, N22 by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios for Alexandra Palace
The Painted Hall, SE10 by Hugh Broughton Architects for the Old Royal Naval College
West Norwood Library and Cinema, SE27 by Panter Hudspith Architects for LB Lambeth and Picturehouse Cinemas Ltd



UNBUILT WINNER Illuminated River, by Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands and Leo Villareal Studio for Illuminated River Foundation


BUILT WINNER Drayton Green Church, W12 by Piercy&Company for IPC Ealing

Revitalise Peckham Rye, SE15 by Curl la Tourelle Head Architecture for LB Southwark
Royal Opera House 'Open Up', WC2 by Stanton Williams for Royal Opera House 



Sponsored by International Fire Consultants (IFC Group) 

WINNER The Royal College of Pathologists, E1 by Bennetts Associates for Royal College of Pathologists

The Belham Primary School, SE15 by Haverstock for LB Southwark and The Belham Primary School
Music School, King's College School Wimbledon, SW19 by Hopkins Architects for King's College School Wimbledon 


Health & Care

Sponsored by designjunction

WINNER Burbridge Close, RM8 by Peter Barber Architects for LB Barking and Dagenham


Sponsored by designjunction

WINNER Aikin Villas, N16 by Stephen Taylor Architects for LB Hackney 

13 Alwyne Place, N1 by Mitzman Architects LLP

Hotels & Hospitality

WINNER The Kimpton Fitzroy, WC1 by EPR Architects for Starwood Capital and Principal Hotels 

The Conduit, W1 by Feix&Merlin with Russell Sage Studio and Cavendish Studios for The Conduit
Park House Apart-Hotel - West Ham Lane, E15 by East architecture, landscape, urban design for Major Housing Association


Sponsored by WICONA

UNBUILT WINNER Beechwood Mews, N3 by Peter Barber Architects for Kuropatwa

BUILT WINNER Hoxton Press, Colville Estate, N1 by Karakusevic Carson Architects and David Chipperfield Architects for LB Hackney 

WINNER Marklake Court, SE1 by Bell Phillips Architects for Leathermarket Community Benefit Society

Hanbury Street, E1 by PRP for LB Tower Hamlets
Harvist Estate New-Build, N7 by LB Islington for LB Islington
Mapleton Crescent, SW18 by Metropolitan Workshop LLP for Pocket Living

Masterplan & Area Strategies

WINNER (Area strategy) New Cross Area Framework and Station Opportunity Study, SE14 by 5th Studio for LB Lewisham, TfL, GLA

WINNER (Masterplan) Sugar House Island, E15 by ARC-ML for Vastint UK

St Thomas Street East Design Framework, SE1 by Kohn Pederson Fox Associates, Renzo Piano Building Workshop and Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands for CIT, Sellar, Greystar and Columbia Threadneedle Investments
Suburban Design Guide Supplementary Planning Document (SPD2), CR0 by LB Croydon


WINNER Meanwhile Croydon, CR0 by LB Croydon

London Printworks, SE16 by Civic Engineers Ltd and Nissen Richards Studio for Vibration Group


Mixed Use

UNBUILT WINNER Carlton & Granville, NW6 by Adam Khan Architects for LB Brent 

BUILT WINNER Energy Hub, SE17 by Morris+Company for Lendlease

Bethnal Green Mission Church, E9 by Gatti Routh Rhodes for Bethnal Green Mission Church and Thornsett Group
Brickworks, N4 by Brady Mallalieu Architects for LB Islington
Manhattan Loft Gardens, E20 by SOM for Manhattan Loft Corporation


Public Spaces

UNBUILT WINNER West End Project Public Spaces, W1 by LDA Design for LB Camden

BUILT WINNER Bond Street public realm improvement project, W1 by WSP, Publica, Norman Rourke Pryme, FM Conway for City of Westminster, New West End Company and Transport for London

London Wall Place, EC2 by Spacehub and Make Architects for London Wall Place Partnership (Brookfield/Oxford Properties jv)
Thames River Path, SW8 by Churchman Thornhill Finch for Nine Elms Vauxhall Partnership and LB Wandsworth



WINNER Quadrant Arcade, W1 by Barr Gazetas for The Crown Estate

Coal Drops Yard, N1 by Heatherwick Studio for King’s Cross Central Limited Partnership


Transport & Infrastructure

UNBUILT WINNER Royal Wharf Pier, E16 by Nex— for Ballymore & Oxley

BUILT WINNER Hackney Wick Station, E9by Landolt + Brown for LLDC and Network Rail 


UNBUILT WINNER Capital Corner, E1 by Vine Architecture Studio for Capital Estates Limited

BUILT WINNER 40 Beak Street, W1 by Stiff+Trevillion for LandCap and Enstar

Cargo, Crossrail Place, E14 by Gensler for Blackstone
One Fen Court, EC3 by Eric Parry Architects for Generali Saxon Land Development Company

Supported by


Footwork Architects

International Fire Consultants

Sponsorship Opportunities

By supporting the New London Awards you will be aligning your organisation with the best new projects in London. For more information on available packages please contact Aurelia Amantis call 0207 636 4044
Email us

Stay in touch

Upgrade your plan

Choose the right membership for your business

Billing type:
All prices exclude VAT
View options for Personal membership