New London Architecture

100% digital (COVID-19)

Our programme is now digital, enabling you to access our content from the comfort of your own home during lockdown. Subscribe here for email updates, or follow us at @nlalondon

Wellbeing Wonders: designing happy healthy places


Tuesday 24 November 2020
10:00 - 11:00

This webinar focuses on some of the outstanding shortlisted projects from the Wellbeing category of the New London Awards, that put physical and mental health at the heart of the design process.
The often intangible qualities that make happy, healthy places have been assessed in this years Wellbeing Prize at the New London Awards. The category looks at how design approaches consider key conditions such as the quality of air, water, light and comfort to aid physical and mental wellbeing of the people who live or work in the schemes. Expert assessors felt this was a less defined area in terms of judging criteria but with an ‘intangible joy’ or diversity that emanated from the best of those on show, beyond mere sustainability. 
Taking a detailed look at some of the shortlisted projects, we explore the design process, the use of materials, collaboration and other important factors that have produced quality places that put wellbeing at the forefront. 


10:00   Welcome from Chair 
             Tamsie Thomson, Director, London Festival of Architecture

10:05   Introduction from Airflow
             Ian Palmer, Head of UK Specification, Airflow

10:10   The Centre for Creative Learning, Francis Holland School  
             Robyn Poulson, Architect, BDP

10:20   Holland Park Playground 
             Barbara Kaucky, Director and Co-founder, Erect Architecture

 10:30   Eccleston Yards
             Andrew Henriques, Director, Buckley Gray Yeoman

10:40   Panel discussion
             Speakers above

11:00   Close

This content is only available to NLA members.

To unlock event resources, such as presentations, brochures or recordings, join NLA as a member.

Create account Login


Tamsie Thomson

Director, London Festival of Architecture

Barbara Kaucky

Director and Co-founder, Erect Architecture

Ian Palmer

Head of UK Specification, Airflow

Robyn Poulson

Architect, BDP

Andrew Henriques

Director, BuckleyGrayYeoman



Programme Champions

CPD Accreditation

CPD Accreditation Logo


Stay in touch

Upgrade your plan

Choose the right membership for your business

Billing type:
All prices exclude VAT
View options for Personal membership